Rideshare services have forever changed the way we travel. When you hop into the back of an Uber or Lyft, you get the convenience of sitting back and relaxing, but you also give up all control over your ride. It becomes your driver’s responsibility to keep you safe – but what if that doesn’t happen? Florida in particular is a risky place to drive, so it’s important to know what to do if an accident occurs.
First Steps After a Rideshare Accident
If you are a passenger in a Florida rideshare when it’s involved in an accident, your first step is to assess your medical condition and seek treatment if needed. Here is the full list of steps you should follow:
- Seek medical care. If you have even minor injuries, you should seek medical treatment. You never know what small injury could get worse later, and the sooner you have official documentation of your injuries, the better.
- Take photos and notes. It’s a good idea to write down the names of the drivers involved and the license plate number. Even though most information should be available through the rideshare app, it’s helpful to have your own backup of important details. Photos can ultimately help prove who was at fault for the accident.
- Make a claim with your own insurance company. You should file a claim with your insurance company, but don’t give a statement yet. Proceed to the next step and consult with a lawyer before providing any recorded statements.
- Contact a rideshare attorney. Each case is unique, and your rideshare accident may have specificities that are difficult to navigate. An Uber or Lyft accident lawyer like those at Salter, Healy, Rivera & Heptner can walk you through the process and make sure you receive compensation for your injuries.
Uber & Lyft Insurance Requirements
For rideshare drivers who are logged into their respective app but have no passengers yet:
- $25,000 in property damages
- $50,000 in death and bodily injury per person
- $100,000 in bodily injury per accident
- Personal injury protection (PIP) insurance and uninsured/underinsured motorist (UIM) coverage as required by existing Florida law
If the driver already has passengers in their car, the Florida insurance requirements are as follows:
- $1 million liability coverage for bodily injury, property damage, and death (this is covered by the TNC’s third party liability insurance)
- PIP and UIM coverage as required by existing Florida law
Who is Liable for the Accident?
Liability is determined based on who caused the accident and where you are located. Florida is a “no-fault” accident state, meaning that drivers there are responsible for using their own insurance to cover medical bills or damages. Florida Uber and Lyft drivers are required to carry a large amount insurance as listed above because these policies are used to pay for any injuries or damaged property from the accident. If the other driver is found to be at fault, their insurance will cover any injuries sustained by you or your rideshare driver.
How to Get Compensation for an Injury
After being in a rideshare accident, you could be dealing with a variety of damages. Whether your injury is life-changing or only causes you a few days of lost wages, you should be eligible for compensation. Every state has their own statute of limitations for when you can file a claim. In Florida you need to file within four years of the accident. By contacting an experienced attorney, they can help you file a claim and prove that someone else’s negligence caused your rideshare injury.