The convenience and ease of rideshare traveling has allowed a company like Uber to complete over 7.6 billion trips in 2022 alone. While the majority of Uber rides successfully reach their destination, studies have charted a 3% increase in rideshare accidents. If you are ever involved in an Uber accident, being informed about Florida liability insurance policy and its relation to Uber will prepare you to reach your desired legal outcome.
Florida Accident Liability and Insurance Coverage
When trying to move forward following an Uber accident, it’s important to understand how Uber drivers are held accountable and liable in the state of Florida. There are requirements that ensure a minimum amount of Florida insurance coverage for every rideshare driver. Personal injury protection (PIP) and uninsured/underinsured motorist (UIM) coverage are required as outlined by existing Florida law at all times for rideshare drivers.
Additionally, the 2017 Florida bill made all Transportation Network Companies (TNCs) carry the following coverages:
When a Florida rideshare driver is logged onto their application, but not engaged in a ride:
- $100,000 for death and bodily injuries per incident
- $50,000 for death and bodily injury per person
- $25,000 for property damage
When a Florida rideshare driver is logged onto their application and engaged in a ride:
- $1,000,000 for death, bodily injury, and property damages
This baseline insurance and liability coverage reflects what Uber currently offers its driver in the state of Florida. If the Uber driver is in their car for personal reasons, free from Uber passengers, and their Uber app is turned off they are only covered by their own private plan.
Florida Uber Accident Claim Deadlines
Uber accident claims can involve a variety of different injuries to multiple parties. While these legal cases are complex, perhaps the most important information to remember are the individual Florida deadlines that could apply.
Florida personal injury cases must be filed within four years of the injury caused by your Uber driver.
Florida wrongful death cases must be filed within two years of your family or friends death. If your family or friend passed away in an Uber accident, it’s important to take legal action before reaching the two year mark.
What Types of Damages and Losses Are Recoverable?
Depending on the details of your Uber accident, there are different available types of compensation you may be entitled to. The following types of compensation are all potential available to Florida Uber accident victims:
Economic damages include tangible losses such as medical expenses or wage loss due to an Uber accident. Temporary disability, physical therapy, and future life expenses are all recoverable depending on your circumstances.
Non-economic damages are more subjective and intangible by definition. They involve negative impacts on quality of life following an Uber accident. Informed legal advice can help determine fair compensation for pain and suffering, scarring, and other mental anguish caused by the accident.
Punitive damages are sometimes appropriate when acts of gross negligence are associated with your Florida personal injury or wrongful death case. A rideshare accident attorney can help navigate your legal case and see if you potentially qualify.